Sarawak marks 45th anniversary by honouring DPM

By Friday October 24th, 2008 No Comments

KUCHING: Datuk Seri Najib Tun Abdul Razak will be conferred Sarawak’s second highest award in conjunction with the state’s 45th Anniversary of Progress in Malaysia celebrations.

The Deputy Prime Minister is the sole recipient of the Darjah Utama Yang Amat Mulia Bintang Kenyalang Sarawak, which carries the Datuk Patinggi title.

Datin Seri Jeanne Abdullah, wife of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, is the sole recipient of the Datuk Amar Bintang Kenyalang, which carries the Datuk Amar title.

The five recipients of the Panglima Negara Bintang Sarawak (PNBS), which carries the Datuk title, are Gerakan adviser Tun Dr Lim Keng Yaik, Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop, Higher Education Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin, Inter­national Trade and Industry Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohd Sidek Hassan.

Sarawak is celebrating its 45th anniversary of independence within Malaysia, which it helped to form in 1963. Governor Tun Abang Muham­mad Salahuddin Abang Muhammad will confer awards to 666 people in conjunction with his 87th birthday, which falls today.

Heading the birthday awards list are state Housing Minister Datuk Abang Johari Tun Openg and state Second Planning and Resource Management Minister Datuk Awang Tengah Ali Hasan, who will receive the Datuk Amar Bintang Kenyalang award, which carries the Datuk Amar title.

Businessman Mahmud Abu Bekir Taib, son of Chief Minister Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud, is the sole recipient of the PNBS, while Albert Hong Hin Kay of Singapore has been awarded the PNBS (Honorary) title.

The recipients of the Panglima Gemilang Bintang Kenyalang (PGBK), which also carries the Datuk title, are Deputy Rural and Regional Development Minister aimeph Entulu Belaun, Tasik Biru assemblyman Peter Nansian Nguise, state Assistant Minister for Land Development Francis Harden Hollis, Datuk Azlan Mohd Zainol, Nozirah Bahari and businessman Hu Chang Pee @ Hii Chang Pee.

The recipients of the Darjah Jasa Bakti Sarawak, which carries the Datu title, are Abdul Razak Mohd Tready, Abdul Hamid Mohd Yusoff, Ismawi Ismuni, Liaw Soon Eng, Sudarsono Osman, Sanib Said and Ose Murang.

Prof Lance Thomas Twomey is the sole recipient of the Pingat Panglima Setia Bintang Sarawak (Honorary), which carries the Datukship.

The Pingat Panglima Setia Bintang, also a Datukship, is being awarded to Lawas MP Henry Sum Agong, businessmen Robert Geneid, Wee Yiaw Hin and Tiang Ming Sing, Noordin Che Ngah, Affandi @ Affendie Tahir, Kamal Husin, Prof Dr Mohamed Abdul Majid and Majama @ Maznah Dasmi.

Source : The Star

Leave a Reply