Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/customer/www/najibrazak.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/salient/nectar/redux-framework/ReduxCore/inc/class.redux_filesystem.php on line 29
New PM Najib Launches Administration With Release Of 13 Isa Detainees - Najib Razak

New PM Najib Launches Administration With Release Of 13 Isa Detainees

By Monday April 6th, 2009 No Comments

KUALA LUMPUR, April 3 (Bernama) — New Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak tonight launched his administration with the release of 13 Internal Security Act (ISA) detainees and pledged to conduct a comprehensive review of the ISA which has been regarded as controversial.

In his maiden speech over television after having been sworn in as the country’s sixth prime minister earlier in the day, Najib also announced the government’s decision to remove the three-month ban imposed on Harakah and Suara Keadilan, the official organs of PAS and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), respectively, last month.

“These decisions are timely as we move to enhance the confidence of our citizens in those entrusted with maintaining peace, law and order, while recognising the need to remain vigilant of the very real security threats we continue to face as a young nation,” he said.

Najib said the Home Ministry would announce details shortly.

Declaring the slogan of “One Malaysia. People First. Performance Now”, Najib invited all the people of Malaysia to join him in the task of renewing Malaysia.

Najib’s speech, carried live over television nationwide, is expected to give a new lease on life to the government’s efforts to win over the hearts and minds of the people.

Najib, 55, who succeeded Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi as the country’s sixth prime minister, pledged to work tirelessly in serving the people.

He also promised to remain focused in providing strong leadership to lead the people out of the current economic crisis which has hit the world, including Malaysia.

“I will be steadfast in my commitment to meet the needs, aspirations and concerns of all Malaysians,” he said.

Meanwhile, of the 13 ISA detainees released, two are members of the outlawed Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf), one a member of the Jemaah Islamiah (JI), seven members of the Darul Islam group and three foreigners involved in the falsifying of documents.

The JI member, Wan Amin Wan Hamat, was detained on March 20, 2003 and his detention was extended to March 19, 2011.

The others are Hindraf leaders V. Ganabatirau and R. Kengadharan; Darul Islam group members Binsali Omar, A. Artas A. Burhanudin, Idris Lanama, Francis Indanan, Mohd Nazri Dolah, Pakana Selama and Mohd Arasad Patangari; and foreigners V. Sundaraj (of India), San Khaing (Myanmar) and Amir Hussain (Myanmar).

Source : Bernama

Leave a Reply