Najib's team sworn in

By Sunday April 12th, 2009 No Comments

KUALA LUMPUR: Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin led the newly-appointed Cabinet ministers and deputy ministers in taking their oath of office before Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin at Istana Negara here yesterday.

Present were Raja Permaisuri Agong Tuanku Nur Zahirah, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and former prime ministers Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

The swearing-in was telecast live over RTM1.

The ceremony at Balairong Seri Istana Negara started at 9.30am with Muhyiddin receiving his letter of appointment.

After taking the oath of office, loyalty and confidentiality, he signed the instrument of appointment, witnessed by Court of Appeal President Tan Sri Alauddin Mohd Sheriff and Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohd Sidek Hassan.

Five senior ministers Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat (Transport), senator Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon (Prime Minister’s Department), Tan Sri Bernard Dompok (Plantation Industries and Commodities), Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Aziz (Prime Minister’s Department) and Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein (Home) then took their oaths.

The other ministers and deputy ministers followed suit.

The ministers were Datuk Seri Rais Yatim (Information, Commu¬nications, Arts and Culture), Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop (Prime Minister’s Department), Datuk Peter Chin Fah Kui (Energy, Green Technology and Water), Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal (Rural and Regional Development) and Datuk Seri Mohd Khaled Nordin (Higher Education).

Datuk Mustapa Mohamed (International Trade and Industry), Datuk Dr Maximus Ongkili (Science, Technology and Innovation), Datuk Douglas Uggah Embas (Natural Resources and Environment), Datuk Seri Dr Ng Yen Yen (Tourism) and Datuk Noh Omar (Agriculture and Agrobased Industry).

Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (Defence), Datuk Shaziman Abu Mansor (Works), Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai (Health) and Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek (Youth and Sports).

Datuk Dr S. Subramaniam (Human Resources), Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob (Domestic Trade and Consumers Affairs), Datuk Ahmad Husni Mohamad Hanadzlah (Second Finance), and Datuk Kong Cho Ha (Housing and Local Government).

Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil (Women, Family and Community Development), Datuk Anifah Aman (Foreign), Datuk Raja Nong Chik Raja Zainal Abidin (Federal Territories) and Datuk Jamil Khir Baharom (Prime Minister’s Department).

The deputy ministers were also sworn in.

Najib’s wife Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, Muhyiddin’s wife Puan Seri Norainee Abdul Rahman, Tun Abdullah’s wife Tun Jeanne Abdullah, and Tun Dr Mahathir’s wife Tun Dr Siti Hasmah were also present.

Najib was sworn in as prime minister last Friday.

Source : Bernama

Leave a Reply