Malaysian PM unveils new 28-member cabinet lineup

By Thursday April 9th, 2009 No Comments

KUALA LUMPUR, Apr 09, 2009 (Xinhua via COMTEX) — Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak unveiled the lineup of his new cabinet on Thursday.

Najib himself kept the Finance Ministry portfolio.

Muhyiddin Yassin has been appointed as Deputy Prime Minister and Mustapa Mohamed as the new Minister of International Trade and Industry to fill the vacancy left by Muhyiddin.

Muhyiddin also resumed the post of Education Minister in the 28- member cabinet.

Zahid Hamidi has been appointed as Defence Minister and Hishammuddin Hussein has been appointed as Home Minister to replace Syed Hamid.

Anifah Aman took the post of Foreign Minister to replace Rais Yatim, who has been transfered to become the minister of the newly- formed Information, Unity, Culture and Arts Ministry.

Ong Tee Keat, president of the Malaysian Chinese Association ( MCA) kept his post as Transportation Minister, Liow Tiong Lai from the MCA remained as Health Minister, while Ng Yen Yen, also from the MCA, has been appointed as Tourism Minister.

The new Cabinet was downsized to 28 members from 32, while the number of the ministries was also reduced to 25 from 27.


Source : Xinhua

Leave a Reply