Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/customer/www/najibrazak.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/salient/nectar/redux-framework/ReduxCore/inc/class.redux_filesystem.php on line 29
Malaysia doubts achievement of MDGs - Najib Razak

Malaysia doubts achievement of MDGs

By Saturday February 28th, 2009 No Comments

KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 26, 2009 (Xinhua via COMTEX) — The achievement of the targets of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) is now questionable, Malaysian deputy prime minister Najib Tun Razak said here on Thursday.

“Although the Millennium Development Goals aims to reduce by half the number of undernourished people in the world by the year 2015, the shortfall in food production and high food prices are being compounded by the global financial crisis,” Najib said at his opening address to the Developing 8 Countries (D8) Ministers Meeting on Food Security.

Food Security has become a major issue in many countries, not least in the D8 countries, he said.

He pointed out that cooperation in agriculture and food production can be strengthened based on the Guiding Principles of the D8 Roadmap (2008-2018).

“Among the D8 countries, we must continue to forge a concrete mechanism that encourages participation from both the public and private sectors so that each of us can leverage on our strengths and competitive advantage to assist other D8 countries,” he said.

D8 countries should explore the possibility of providing assistance to each other to address food security and should make available and mobilize funds in a coordinated and efficient manner to ensure food security in all D8 countries, he added.

He hoped that the meeting will adopt common and mutually recognized standards for fertilizers and animal feed which take into consideration increasing crop yield and production as well as safeguarding the environment and human health, promote closer collaboration and accelerate transfer and adoption of new technologies, promote collaborative research and technology transfer in germplasm collection and preservation and strengthen capacity building.

D8 comprises eight developing Muslim countries including Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan and Turkey, with an objective to improve the position of Muslim developing countries in the global world economy through the diversification of their economies by creating new opportunities via increased trade relations.

Source : Xinhua

Leave a Reply